New to board and need advice

Info about our boards and kits.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

redozzman

New to board and need advice

Post by redozzman » Tue Jan 23, 2007 5:16 pm

I have been a long time poster at the Plexi palace and have read threads regarding the Metro amp kits, anyhow, I have decided to take the plunge and buy one of the plexi kits. This is where the confusion and questions begin. Please bear with me.

I want to build the VH spec 68 plexi but after coresponding with George he reccomended that I start with the 69 kit which enables better support and instruction.(I have no experience with building amps and this will be my first encounter.) I have read all the theories and mojo regarding placement of filtercaps ect in producing the VH mojo hence my desire to build the 12000 series amp. Here are a few questions that the experienced guys could help me with

1. is the 69 plexi kit easy to change over to the 12000 series and is there a big difference in tone from cans on top of the chassis vs. on the board. I know people claim there is a difference I really dont care about cosmetics only the tone.

2. Should I take Georges advice and do the 69 kit first then go from there.

3. What OPT and PT should I buy if i want to convert to the 12000 series later.

Thanks for any input.

Flames1950

Post by Flames1950 » Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:07 pm

Well, working backwards.....

The PT and OT that come with the '69 kit should be fine for 12000 series sound -- the OT with the '69 is the Metro 1.5" Dagnall clone, and that tranny started showing up somewhere in '67. The PT voltages should be fine as well.
You can lower the filter cap values to simulate the '67 values. I think the placement of the caps on a board vs. chassis mounted is a pretty minor point.