Which Mic Pre?

Techniques for getting your tone to tape.

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, BUG

npminard

Which Mic Pre?

Post by npminard » Tue Dec 12, 2006 3:17 pm

Getting ready to pull the plug on an SM57 and a mic pre, but not sure what to look for in a mic pre? I know that there are some high end ones in the $1000+ range. I'm just getting started w/mic'ing cabs, so I'm trying to stay in the $200-300 range, would like to get something that'll give me a quality sound so that I can put recordings on the net, but doesn't have to be studio grade. What kind of factors should I consider? Seems like Dual Channel vs. Single Channel is pretty big. Is there anything like checking compatibility w/the PC it's going into, knowing I'll need a USB adapter. I'm running the now defunct Cool Edit Pro 2.0. Companies like ART, PreSonus, and Behringer have some affordable models...in the $50 range, seems too cheap? I'm sure this is "you get what you pay for" Any input would be great. Thanks

Nathaniel

St August

Post by St August » Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:02 pm

I picked up a Mackie 1642 VLZ pro on the bay for 225.00 and I got 16 mic pre's better than My Focusrite platinum pro plus which I sold..... :wink:
so Buy a board youll be much happier...

Bluesgeetar
Just the numbers in order: 7

hmm

Post by Bluesgeetar » Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:08 pm

THe best bang for the buck you'll find anywhere in the world is the EH 12AY7 mic pre. 150-189 bucks and can be upgraded to smoke most all. By upgrade I mean you'll have to void that warranty and replace cheap parts with WIMA and the likes and carbon comps or whatever. Neutrik mic connectors and all. BUt it sounds killer out of the box as is. I got some Telefunken 12AU7 and RCA 12AY7 in mine! She sings heavenly! :D

npminard

Post by npminard » Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:35 pm

Thanks for the responses guys. A board...didn't think of that. I have an older Tascam 246 Portastudio...wonder how that would sound.

St August

Post by St August » Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:19 pm