Dual Microphones

Techniques for getting your tone to tape.

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, BUG

Matt

Dual Microphones

Post by Matt » Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:25 pm

Ive been watching alot of videos on youtube of bands fromt the late 60's and a lot of them the lead singer will have two micrphones taped together that theyre singing into. Whats the purpose of this setup? Ive seen free do it, as well as led zepplin from their early recordings. Usually it looks like an sm57 with a sm58 or something similar looking.
If I was a good student I wouldnt be attending music school.

St August

Post by St August » Tue Nov 06, 2007 6:59 pm

I think it was because of the PA set up.. 1 mic for left 1 mic for right..
The intigration of Stereo was still in its infantcey. Everything was mono
at the time. They werent quite sure how to use a Stereo set up..
If you listen to some old recordings from the early to mid 60's
drums on one side and insturments on the other with a ( u-pick-it) side for the vocals..

45auto

Post by 45auto » Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:09 am

another thing i think some folks were doing is wiring one mic out of phase for feedback reduction. like a humbucker, so i heard...
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... dID=559714" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s62.photobucket.com/albums/h119/ ... t=1980.flv" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

miguel

Post by miguel » Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:43 am

I always assumed the second mic was for live recording, separate mix from the mains.
"Put your message in a modem and throw it in the Cyber Sea"

Myopic Void
Just the numbers in order: 7

Post by Myopic Void » Wed Nov 07, 2007 2:52 pm

miguel wrote:I always assumed the second mic was for live recording, separate mix from the mains.