MM Axiom Wiring Question

Get support and show off your MetroAmp JTM 45 kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

thetasigma

MM Axiom Wiring Question

Post by thetasigma » Mon Aug 08, 2005 1:15 am

Hi, newbie amp builder here with some questions for the experts. Also I apologise if these questions have been asked at different areas.

Anyway, here's my issue. I have received my JTM 45 amp with the MM Axiom trannys upgrade. So far the wiring's been going great, but I've now reached a place where I'm stumped. I'm currently at the instruction that tells about wiring the power lamp, fuse holder, and power switch with the remaining "black" leads from the power transformer. Well, on the Axiom, there are no "black" leads. I have an Orange, Purple, Blue and Red leads left to wire in, and have no clue which of these wires correspond to "black"

Any help on this woud be greatly appreciatted. I am a newbie, but not a complete idiot to electricity.

Thanks.

Flames1950

Post by Flames1950 » Mon Aug 08, 2005 7:04 pm

My kit just arrived today and has the Heyboer PT but no PT diagram, so I had to skim the instructions quick to see where you're at.
The Heyboer's black wires are the 120VAC input. So the MM Axiom wires that correspond to that should be a black (common to all the voltage taps) and a white (120VAC tap.) The orange looks to be for a 6.3VAC rectifier heater and won't be used, you're just using the brown/white 5V winding for the GZ34/5AR4 rectifier. Violet is a screen shield/ground and I'm assuming you won't need that either since there is no corresponding lead on the Heyboer. The only red wires I see on the Axiom diagram are B+ voltage, so there should be two reds going to the rectifier and a black CT for the B+ winding.